Skip to main content

GSBSE

Molecular and Cellular Biology

Molecular and Cellular Biology seeks mechanistic understanding of broad aspects of development and disease, including cell signal transduction, stem cell fate determination, and tissue homeostasis at multiple levels that include intermolecular, cell-cell, tissue and organ function. Related research within the GSBSE ranges from basic developmental and disease processes in cell and animal models from zebrafish to mouse, to studies in humans, which emphasize vascular biology, stem cell biology, tissue development, homeostasis and pathology. Learn more >

Neuroscience

Neuroscience is an intrinsically broad discipline aimed at understanding large issues such as cognition, behavior, and neurological systems at levels that include the underlying anatomical and cellular circuits, and even the molecular events that control cell excitability, synaptic function, and development. Neuroscience research within the GSBSE ranges from psychology and psychometric studies in humans, to neuropharmacology and toxicology, to molecular genetics of neurodevelopment and neurodegenerative disease in model organisms. Learn more >

Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering may be defined as the application of engineering principles to promote and enhance the health and well-being of humans. Applications span the gamut of clinical, therapeutic and diagnostic arenas. Research strengths of the GSBSE include; artificial muscle, biomedical microdevices and microsystems, Lab-on-Chip, Biosensors, nanodevices and instruments, cell mechanics, robotic surgery, single molecule imaging, spectroscopy and microscopy of biological materials, and porous implants for tissue ingrowth. Learn more >

Toxicology

Toxicology is an applied discipline that incorporates and builds on a host of scientific disciplines to investigate the consequences of exposure to chemical agents on living organisms and the environment, and the cellular and molecular mechanisms that underlie those consequences. Research strengths of the GSBSE include; comparative marine toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, immunotoxicology, toxicogenomics, neurotoxicology, and outer space toxicology. Learn more >

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Research in bioinformatics and computational biology is an interdisciplinary area of study that brings together biologists, computer and information scientists, mathematicians, engineers, biophysicists, and chemists to examine fundamental biological processes through data intensive analysis and computational modeling.
Learn more >

 

Directory

Faculty
Name Email Phone
Ren, Guangwen "Gary" gary.ren@jax.org 207-288-6783
Baker, Christopher christoper.baker@jax.org
Beard-Tisdale, Kate beard@spatial.maine.edu (207) 581-2147
Blake, Judith judith.blake@jax.org (207) 288-6248
Bolcun-Filas, Ewelina Ewelina.Bolcun-Filas@jax.org 207-288-6985
Bove, Geoffrey gbove@une.edu 207 602 2921
Braun, Bob bob.braun@jax.org (207) 288-6841
Brooks, Peter brookp1@mmc.org (207) 885-8239
Brown, Aaron browna7@mmc.org 2073968379
Bult, Carol carol.bult@jax.org (207) 288-6324
Burgess, Robert robert.burgess@jax.org (207) 288-6706
Burman, Michael mburman@une.edu 2076022301
Cao, Ling lcao@une.edu (207) 602-2213
Carter, Greg Greg.Carter@jax.org 207-288-6025
Chesler, Elissa elissa.chesler@jax.org
Churchill, Gary garyc@jax.org
Cobo-Lewis, Alan alan.cobo-lewis@umit.maine.edu
Coffman, James jcoffman@mdibl.org (207) 288-9880 x444
Collins, Scott scott.collins@maine.edu (207) 581-2269
Congdon, Clare Bates congdon@gmail.com 207.396.8150
Connell, Laurie laurie.connell@umit.maine.edu 207.581.2470
Cox, Gregory greg.cox@jax.org (207) 288-6502
Croall, Dorothy dorothy.croall@maine.edu (207) 581-2829
Currie, Doug dcurrie@usm.maine.edu 207-228-8192
Dai, Chengkai Chengkai.Dai@jax.org (207) 288-6927
Davidoff, Amy adavidoff@une.edu (207) 602-2824
Dorothy, Klimis-Zacas dorothy.klimis.zacas@umit.maine.edu
Dowse, Harold dowse@maine.edu (207) 581-2536
Duarte, Christine duartc@mmc.org
Duboise, Monroe duboise@usm.maine.edu
Dumont, Beth beth.dumont@jax.org 207-288-6647
Egenhofer, Max max@spatial.maine.edu
Elias, Merrill mfelias@maine.edu (207) 581-2097
Ell, Shawn shawn.ell@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-2037
Faculty, Test gsbse@maine.edu
Fremouw, Thane thane.fremouw@umit.maine.edu
Friesel, Robert friesr@mmc.org (207) 396-8147
Godwin, James james.godwin@jax.org 207-288-1458
Gosse, Julie (207) 581-4833
Graber, Joel jhgraber@jax.org (207) 288-6782
Gramlich, William william.gramlich@maine.edu (207) 581-1173
Gridley, Thomas gridlt@mmc.org (207) 396-8113
Grindrod, Christopher christopher.grindrod@maine.edu (207) 581-2014
Gundersen, Robert gundersn@maine.edu (207) 581-2802
Guvench, Olgun oguvench@une.edu 207-221-4171
Handel, Mary Ann maryann.handel@jax.org (207) 288-6778
Harrison, Ben bharrison2@une.edu 2076022174
Hayes, Marie J. mhayes@maine.edu (207) 973-4963
Henry, Clarissa Clarissa.Henry@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-2816
Hernandez, Arturo hernaa@mmc.org (207)-396-8139
Hess, Sam sam.hess@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-1036
Hills, Ronald rhills@une.edu (207) 221-4049
Houseknecht, Karen khouseknecht@une.edu 207-602-2872
Howell, Gareth gareth.howell@jax.org
Howell, Caitlin caitlin.howell@maine.edu (207) 581-2309
John, Simon swmj@jax.org
John, Simon simon.john@jax.org (207)288-6496
Johnson, Ken ken.johnson@jax.org
Kaczorowski, Catherine catherine.kaczorowski@jax.org 2072886368
Kelley, Joshua joshua.b.kelley@maine.edu
Khalil, Andre andre.khalil@maine.edu (207) 581-3911
Kienzler, Michael michael.kienzler@maine.edu
Kim, Carol carolkim@maine.edu (207) 581-1505
King, Tamara tking6@une.edu (207) 602-2981
King, Benjamin benjamin.l.king@maine.edu
Korstanje, Ron Ron.Korstanje@jax.org (207) 288-6992
Koza, Robert rkoza@mmc.org
Kumar, Vivek vivek.kumar@jax.org (207)288-6917
Lei, Lei LLei@une.edu (207)602-2353
Liaw, Lucy liawl@mmc.org (207) 396-8142
Lindner, Volkhard lindnv@mmc.org (207) 396-8143
Losick, Vicki vlosick@mdibl.org 207-288-9880 ext 453
Lu, Mingyang Mingyang.Lu@jax.org 207-288-6350
Maginnis, Melissa melissa.maginnis@maine.edu (207) 581-2806
Mason, Michael Mmason@umche.maine.edu (207) 581-2344
May, Meghan mmay3@une.edu
McCoy, Shannon Shannon.McCoy@umit.maine.edu
Meng, Ian imeng@une.edu 207-602-2195
Millard, Paul paul.millard@maine.edu (207) 581-2265
Mohan, Srinidi smohan@une.edu
Mokler, David DMokler@une.edu (207) 602-2210
Molliver, Derek dmolliver@une.edu 207-602-2221
Motyl, Katherine motylk@mmc.org (207) 396-8004
Munger, Steven steven.munger@jax.org (207) 288-1479
Musavi, Mohamad musavi@eece.maine.edu (207) 581-2243
Myracle, Angela angela.myracle@maine.edu
Naggert, J├╝rgen jkn@jax.org (207) 288-6382
Neely, Melody melody.neely@maine.edu (207) 581-1513
Neivandt, David dneivandt@umche.maine.edu (207) 581-2288
Nishina, Patsy pmn@jax.org
Nittel, Silvia nittel@spatial.maine.edu (207) 581-3681
O'Connell, Kristen
Oxburgh, Leif oxburl@mmc.org (207) 396-8115
Pereira da Cunha, Mauricio mdacunha@maine.edu (207) 581-2384
Peters, Luanne luanne@jax.org (207) 288-6391
Pinz, Ilka pinzi@mmc.org (207) 396-8280
Prudovsky, Igor prudoi@mmc.org (207) 396-8146
Reagan, Michaela Mreagan@mmc.org 2073968196
Rieger, Sandra srieger@mdibl.org 207-288-9880
Robbins, Michael michael.robbins@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-2033
Rogers, Aric arogers@mdibl.org 207 288-9880 Ext. 436
Roopenian, Derry dcr@jax.org (207) 288-6396
Rosen, Clifford rosenc@mmc.org (207) 662-4174
Rosenwasser, Alan alan.rosenwasser@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-2035
Ryzhov, Sergey SRyzhov@mmc.org 207-396-8279
Sathyanarayana, Pradeep sathyp@mmc.org
Sawyer, Douglas dsawyer@mmc.org 207-662-2414
Selvage, Dan dselvage@une.edu 207-221-4059
Serreze, David dave.serreze@jax.org (207) 288-6403
Shahinpoor, Mohsen shah@maine.edu (207) 581-2143
Shultz, Leonard lenny.shultz@jax.org (207) 288-6405
Sigmon, Sandra sandra.sigmon@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-2049
Singer, John jsinger@maine.edu (207) 581-2808
Small, Deena dsmall1@une.edu 207-602- 2444
Smith, Michelle michelle.k.smith@maine.edu
Smith, Rosemary rosemary.smith@maine.edu (207) 581-3361
Spicer, Doug dspicer@une.edu (207) 602-2186
Strange, Kevin k.strange@mdibl.org 207 288-9880 ext 136
Sundberg, John john.sundberg@jax.org
Sutton, Steven ssutton1@une.edu 2072214173
Tarchini, Basile basile.tarchini@jax.org (207)-2886986
Theberge, Cory ctheberge@une.edu 207-221-4057
Thompson, Douglas dougt@usm.maine.edu
Tilbury, Karissa karissa.tilbury@maine.edu
Townsend, Kristy kristy.townsend@maine.edu 207-581-2541
Tripp, Carl ctripp@maine.edu (207 581-2235
Trowbridge, Jennifer jennifer.trowbridge@jax.org 2072886183
Tucker, Kerry ktucker2@une.edu 207-602-2512
Tyler, Mary mary.tyler@umit.maine.edu
Updike, Dustin dupdike@mdibl.org 207 288-9880 ext 477
Van Beneden, Rebecca rebeccav@maine.edu (207) 581-2602
Vary, Calvin varyc@mmc.org (207) 396-8148
Vaughn, James jvaughn@une.edu
Wheeler, Robert robert.wheeler@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-2890
Wojchowski, Don wojchd@mmc.org (207) 885-8258
Wood, Carol cwood@maine.edu
Wood, Margo mwood@usm.maine.edu
Wu, Vivian vivian.wu@umit.maine.edu (207) 581-3101
Yin, Voot vyin@mdibl.org 207 288 9880 x474
Zhang, Zhong-Wei zhongwei.zhang@jax.org
Staff
Name Email Phone
Crosby, Tammy tammy.crosby@maine.edu 2075814654
Students
Name Email Phone
Alamer, Sarah Sarah_A_Alamer@umit.maine.edu
Avery Fitzsimons, Lindsey lindsey.fitzsimons@maine.edu
Blair, Bailey bailey.blair@maine.edu
Blaszkiewicz, Magdalena magdalena.blaszkiewicz@maine.edu
Bomar, Jonathan jonathan.bomar@maine.edu
Bond, Kyle kyle.h.bond@gmail.com
Browning, Cynthia cynthia.browning@maine.edu
Carter , Erin erin.carter@maine.edu 207-581-2807
Cirrincione, Anthony anthony.cirrincione@maine.edu
Cooper, Emily ecole71@maine.edu
Cutter, Nicholas nicholas.cutter@maine.edu
Figueroa, Carolina carolina.figueroa.a@gmail.com
FitzSimons, MaryLynn mlfitzsimons@gmail.com
Gans, Ian ianmgans@gmail.com
Grant, Jeremy jeremy.grant@umit.maine.edu
Grlickova-Duzevik, Eliza eliza.grlickova@maine.edu
Hartmann, Matthew matthew.hartmann@maine.edu (207) 581-2016
Havelin, Joshua joshua.havelin@maine.edu
Jensen, Gabriel gabriel.jensen@maine.edu
Ji, Xiaojie xiaojie.ji@jax.org (207)288-6384
Khokhar, Eraj eraj.khokhar@maine.edu
Kilroy, Elisabeth elisabeth.kilroy@maine.edu
Kong, Yang yang.kong@maine.edu
Kruger, Matthew matthew.kruger@maine.edu
Malcolm, Joan joan.malcolm@jax.org
Maridas, David david.maridas@maine.edu
Martin, Paige paige.b.martin@maine.edu
McCarthy, Sarah sarah.mccarthy3@maine.edu
Morelli , Kathryn kathyh.morelli@gmail.com
Pande , Shivangi shivangi9803@gmail.com
Pullagura, Sri sriramulu.pullagura@jax.org 207-288-6481
Sayed, Ambreen ambreen.sayed@maine.edu
Sitarski , Anna anna.sitarski@maine.edu
Siviski, Matthew matthew.siviski@gmail.com
Spaulding, Emily elspaulding@gmail.com
Sullivan, Cara cara.sullivan@maine.edu
Terrey, Markus markus.terrey@maine.edu
Tian, Cong cong.tian@maine.edu
Weatherly, Lisa lisa.weatherly@maine.edu
Whitmore, Elizabeth ewhitmore@une.edu
Wu, Xi xi.wu@maine.edu

Find a mentor

Find a GSBSE mentor icon

Search by keyword to find a faculty mentor in your area of interest.
Find a mentor at GSBSE

Our Programs

Info icon

We offer 3 degree programs in five research focus areas. Learn more


UMaine The Jackson Laboratory Maine Medical Center Research Institute The Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory University of Southern Maine University of New England
 
For more information about the program, please contact:
Tammy Crosby • 207-581-4654 • gsbse@maine.edu